Yeshivas Chachmei Lublin is the original Yeshiva Building built in 1930 used for Rav Meir Shapiro’s Yeshiva. Rav Meir Shapiro was most famous as founder of the Daf Yomi program for learning Talmud. The five story Yeshiva Building was built to accommodate over 200 students with modern accommodations and living conditions for that time. Most of the daily living took place on the third, fourth and fifth floors. The third floor housed the library, and synagogue. The fourth and fifth floors was the dormitory area.
During World War II the Yeshiva survived destruction because it was used as and military hospital by the Nazis. The library did not survive, it was burned down by the Nazis. In 1944 the Soviets seized the property and in 2002-2003 the building and grounds of the yeshiva were returned to the Jewish Community of Warsaw. The building was in need of major repairs and was restored in 2005 as similar to the prewar look as possible. The synagogue was officially reopened in 2007.
Throughout the building there are large almost life sized pictures of the building and the occupants during the time it was used as a Yeshiva. Currently the Yeshiva is used as a hotel (Hotel Ilan)and as a Synagogue. The rooms are beautiful and clean. It is amazing to think that the same place as we were sleeping was where the holy yeshiva students slept. On the lower level, the original restored Synagogue stands with a side room, the original library area, houses displays and exhibits about the Yeshiva and its history as well as the history of Rav Meir Shapiro and the Daf Yomi program.
Posted: December 23, 2018
Information, prices and hours posted here are current as of the posted or updated date. It is advisable to call ahead or check online to confirm hours and prices.
2161 AM Lisse,
21 March – 12 May 2024,
8 AM – 7:30 PM
Adults: € 19.50
Children (4-17): € 9.00
Parking: € 8.00
Boat ride tickets and bike rentals can be purchased as well.
It is advisable to purchase tickets in advance. There is not always availability for walk-ins.